Seven Quick Takes Friday Vol. 13

7_quick_takes_sm1

I.

OK, first a note.

My Traditional Catholic brethren: If you don’t start being at least marginally charitable to Pope Francis (like, I dunno, start calling him the pope, as opposed to “the current occupant of the Petrine ministry-and I didn’t make that up), until/if he does something incredibly egregious, I am going to a) stop reading your blogs and b) take a really, REALLY dim view of the Extraordinary Form of Mass, if this is how it makes you. End of note.

II.

Now, onto happier things! Like, virginal sacrifices! Yes today is Rite of Spring day! The program showcases the artists of BalletMet and the 109 members of the Columbus Symphony (That’s like maybe 140 people on stage. Imagine that.) The program: Rhapsody Espagnole, Afternoon of a Faun, and the Rite. There are instruments like piccolo clarinet (which Tiff–the MA in Clarinet Performance, so the expert–says is an E-flat clarinet), a bass clarinet (I knew what that was) and lots of other fun instruments!

III.

I will, of course, have a post about Da Rite, once we’re back. Bien sur! Who do you think I am!?!

IV.

To whet your whistle, here’s a costuming tidbit or two from BalletMet:

The dancers were allowed to select their own costume. The idea was that they looked sort of disjointed and a bit, well, ragged. So the costume department pulled about 250 pieces from their vast costume shop (which I’ve seen, it’s amazing) and let the dancers pick. Also, the pointe shoes are dyed great colors like royal blue, yellow, and scarlet!

V.

Books: I started reading Game of Thrones, but probably won’t get into it until this weekend. Still reading Summa, and I found my box of Dear America books, so I’ve been delighting in them as well.

VI.

OK so knitting? I can do the knot. I can cast on. The knit stitch is defeating me. I think I understand it, in theory. I put the R needle behind the first strich on the left (like under the thread). I hold both needles in my L hand and put the yarn counterclockwise around the R hand needle, so the yarn is between the needles. And then I sort of lose it….help?

VII.

I want it to be warm. Like no more snow. No more frost. Weather is NOT cooperating!

Leave a Reply

