Seven Quick Takes Friday Vol. 14

7_quick_takes_sm1

 

 

I.

So if you missed yesterday’s Jeopardy! excitement, I’m going to NYC for the second (and final) round of Jeopardy! auditions. I’ll be there Sunday-Wednesday, since there is a HUGE price difference (like $300 difference) between Sunday and Monday flights, so I’ll fly out Sunday, audition on Tuesday, home on Wednesday. I’ll be staying with my aunt and her family. I will keep you updated as I get more deets. ūüôā

II.

I definitely want to go to the Metropolitan Museum of Art to drool over Vermeers and (hopefully) have afternoon tea, because having afternoon tea is high on my bucket list. I also want to go with my cousin Jack to see a Broadway show–probably¬†Once¬†or¬†Matilda, which will have opened by then.

III.

I haven’t been to NYC in awhile, so I also want to visit¬†The Strand bookstore,¬†which is so totally epic. But we’ll see how much I can fit in, because I totally want to go to Central Park. Every other time I’ve been in NYC, it’s been sweltering, or freezing. May should give us some nice temperatures for park exploring!

IV.

Tomorrow I’m having a girls’ day with two of my best friends from high school, that will feature pub food and book shopping, and dinner which is yet to be determined. Excitement!

V.

Sunday I have my first¬†Les Miserables¬†rehearsal (it’s this year’s summer show)–chorus rehearsals starting early!–and then I’m going out to dinner with my family for my birthday, which is on Tuesday. On the actual day I’m going to a hockey game with my dad, which has never happened before, because usually by the time my birthday rolls around it’s the end of the season, the season is over, or it’s playoff time, so going to a game on my birthday is a pretty cool event (especially since the Blue Jackets are winning lately.)

VI.

Just read The Fever Tree and loved it. A truly fantastic new novel. Do yourself a favor and read it. I also have  The Real Jane Austen: A Life in Small Things to read as well.

VII.

Continuing the Jane Vein: Slate had two articles about her today. Read them and tell me what YOU think Jane’s best/worst novel is! (I don’t really thing she has a “worst” novel. I think she may have a “less good” one.) Persuasion is NOT the worst; that’s probably Northanger Abbey. And I don’t think Jane intended the reader to like Mary Crawford. She’s a foil for Fanny, that’s for sure, but Edmund knows that he shouldn’t like Mary, and her less-than-desirable qualities come through throughout the entire novel. And¬†Emma¬†only gets good when Mrs. Elton shows up.

One thought on “Seven Quick Takes Friday Vol. 14

Leave a Reply

