Seven Quick Takes Vol. 15

7_quick_takes_sm1

I.

So, I turned 31 this week.

Originally this blog was just supposed to be about my 30th year, but I liked y’all so much and I love the WordPress platform, so I’m keeping it as my “one” blog. I managed to import my Tumblr over here, too, so there’s lots to look through and read, if you haven’t, from pre-30 days. 🙂

Last year was a great year, and this year promises to be even better, with Walt Disney World and New York City coming up in the next two months, and Les Miserables in the summer. And my eight year transplant anniversary. Huzzah! So thanks for reading, and I hope you enjoy the stuff to come as much as I will.

(And the birthday was awesome. Separate post coming about that. With art.)

II.

Les Miserables: A lot of people have been asking about this. It’s being done by one of the community theater groups in town. I love working with them, for a few reasons, one of them being they mount these huge, awesome shows and do them well. The first show I did with them was Jekyll and Hyde, and since then I’ve been in their productions of Oliver! and Ragtime.

Les Miz rehearsals have started, but they are only chorus rehearsals; no one’s auditioned for a part yet. Those auditions are Memorial Day weekend. If you’ve done a show with them in the past, you can do the chorus sans auditioning. Now, since Les Miz is completely sung, it makes sense to get the chorus parts down ASAP so that we can focus on the interplay between chorus and characters, and blocking, once we get into the true rehearsal period in June.

III.

For my birthday I got a lot of movies: Les Miz, which I had seen back in December, Argo, and Lincoln. Argo, as we know, won Best Picture, and I have to say it was well deserved. That was a well-crafted, intense, visceral film, and I applaud Ben Affleck and crew for the great job they did. But Lincoln was certainly no slouch, although there were times when I wondered by Spielberg chose to shoot some scenes so darkly. (And I mean it was actually dark, not dark in content, like depress) If you haven’t seen either of these, please do so.

(A note on the Les Miz film: The extreeeeeeme close ups that were so irritating in the theater? Works a lot better on the small screen. Not that I mind getting up close and personal with Eddie Redmayne’s freckles, but still, it’s not nearly as jarring at home.)

My brother also got me season 1 of the Sopranos, which I certainly will enjoy, since I love binge viewing TV series (watching a bunch of eps at one time–I’m doing that with Game of Thrones since I don’t get HBO). We watched the pilot episode last night while we ate pizza, and verily, it was a good time.

IV.

Can I do a bit of grammar here? What the heck, I’m going to.

People: To make something plural, you add “s” or “es.” iPads. Dresses. Teddy bears. Candles. Cars. Tests. Chairs. Boxes. You do not write: iPad’s. Dress’s. Car’s. Test’s. Because, if you do, you’re not making plural. You’re making it possessive. If you write, “we’re getting ready for the test’s,” you have written a sentence that makes no sense in English. WHY do people think this is correct? It is not. Stop it. Now.

Also: Your and you’re. YOUR is the possessive form of “you.” Your car. Your soda. Your house. Your prom dress.

YOU’RE is a contraction of the subject/verb “you are.” “You’re pretty.” “You’re late.” “You’re smart.” “You’re insane.”

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

V.

So I saw my endocrinologist on Thursday, to check and see if our “no insulin” experiment is working. And yea, it is! My A1C (which is like a player’s batting average in baseball: it shows blood sugar levels over time) is 6.1%, which is normal (anything under 7% is normal). My blood sugar levels are also normal, so we’re all super happy that my pancreas is working as it should! I don’t have to go back to see him until next April, and I’ll have A1C levels drawn every three months, just to keep track (this is a super simple test–it’s just a finger stick. You need a drop of blood, and that’s it.). So rejoice!

Also, we’ve scheduled my two days of Yearly Testing Extravaganza for July 8-9. Eight years baby! Whee!

VI.

The clinic was held over in the old hospital, because the current clinic building is being renovated, a floor at a time. So it was on the 5th floor, and let me tell you, it was weird to be back there. That was the old pulmonary/CF floor, where I’d had my first CF hospitalization at age 11, shortly after my  diagnosis, where Dad had ordered pizza for the whole floor the night before my discharge, where I had wheelchair races with a kid named Elvis, and where I’d watched fireworks on the Fourth of July. The floor holds lots of memories, and I kept expecting my former selves to pop up in the rooms. I hadn’t been on that floor in awhile, not since they opened another section of the hospital (4AE) for CF patients, and now, of course, I’m on the transplant service’s floors. But 20 years ago, that floor was home.

VII.

Wacky Ohio weather continues–it was 82 on my birthday, and today it’s in the 50s. Oh well. The grass is really green and the flowers are up, so I’m a happy camper.

One thought on “Seven Quick Takes Vol. 15

  1. Your so funny! Just kiddin ~ you’re. Anyway, I am happy to hear your tests are coming back so positive. My birthday is July 8th, so you should do very well on account of..ha ha. God Bless.

Leave a Reply

