Movie review: Star Trek: Into Darkness

(As I said to my friend, Tiff, who also saw this with me–“It’s not Star Trek II. That’s Wrath of Khan!” I insist on Trek chronology, because I’m difficult.)

This movie blew me away. Really. I don’t want to say too much and ruin it for you guys, but let’s just say if you haven’t seen Wrath of Khan lately (or ever, and in that case, what is wrong with you?), seeing that before seeing this movie will enhance your enjoyment by about 1000%. I know it totally increased mine.

Also: There are tribbles!

Lots of tribbles

Lots of tribbles

Chris Pine and Zachary Quinto are once again a great team, although Spock was really in touch with his human side this film. Benedict Cumberbatch is a fantastic villain. Great pacing, music, cinematography and effects round out this latest Trek installment.

I so want to say more, but a lot of it is Trekkie speak (My dad is a total Trekkie. I watched a lot of Trek TV and film as a child.). And it’s opening weekend, I don’t want to ruin it for you. But here’s what you need to do:

  1. Watch The Wrath of Khan
  2. Watch Star Trek: Into Darkness

Feel overwhelmed. 

Live long and prosper.

Leave a Reply

