Disney Journal No. 7: EPCOT!

or: Apres moi, le deluge–Louis XV

(That’ll make sense in a minute. Trust me.)

So Wednesday was the last full conference day for dad, so we headed to EPCOT (which was, not kidding, right next door to our hotel) around 3:50. A fellow Ohioan (a woman from Dayton) was our ticket taker (although they really are no “ticket takers”, anymore. It’s all electronic: you hold your card over the Mickey Mouse head and it lights up when it’s accepted, then you put your finger on a scanner so that no one else can use your ticket if you lose it. ONLY YOU. This is more helpful for multi-day passes, not so much for us, because once we were in, we weren’t using those particular tickets again. The tickets are like credit cards–plastic, about that size, with Disney characters on them.)

I wanted to see the World Showcase first, because that’s the part I was most interested in. As we came in, the UK Pavilion was to our left, so we headed there first.

Mary Poppins in the UK Pavilion

Mary Poppins in the UK Pavilion

UK Pavilion

UK Pavilion

IMG_1850

Rose and Crown pub

Rose and Crown pub

The one place I really wanted to go? Here.

Twinings!! AKA Jane Austen's tea.

Twinings!! AKA Jane Austen’s tea.

I love tea, especially Twinings, and I did love it before I found out it was what Jane drank (there are references in her letters to trips to Twining’s in London for tea). The store is technically called “The Tea Caddy”, but I just called it the Twinings Place. 🙂 Here I bought a tin of Coronation Tea and a cookbook called Eating Royally, which was written by Princess Diana’s former chef. He also cooked for the Queen and the rest of the royal family. (And yes, the book has Prince William and Duchess Catherine’s wedding cake in it.)

Remember the deluge part? YEah. This is where it started.

It was a true deluge. Pouring, pouring rain. Fortunately Dad had brought out Disney ponchos, so some of us was dry (not my feet. Oh, so totally, not my feet.). We tried waiting it out in The Tea Caddy but eventually decided to soldier on to France.

La Belle France

La Belle France

IMG_0803

Even in the rain, France is gorgeous. We decided to take shelter in their theater and watch the film Impressions de France, which was truly amazing. I’m sort of glad for the rain because otherwise I don’t know if we would have done this! I highly recommend it.

Impressions de France theater

Impressions de France theater

Le chefs de France

Le chefs de France

I loved these pillars in France

I loved these pillars in France

French fountains. C'est magnifique!

French fountains. C’est magnifique!

c'est le mieux

c’est le mieux

After the video, we continued our trek around the World Showcase. Our end point would be Mexico on the other side of the lagoon. We had dinner reservations for 6:30 at La Hacienda San Angel. From point to point, the World Showcase is a mile long, so we were definitely going to get some walking in.

Norway: A stave

Norway: A stave

Vikings!

Vikings!

Norway

Norway

Germany shops

Germany shops

Werther's shop display in Germany

Werther’s shop display in Germany

The popcorn we bought here was amazing–covered in Werther’s caramel and dark chocolate. Holy. Moly.

delicious

delicious

anything with Dopey on it, I love.

anything with Dopey on it, I love.

German glass art

German glass art

"A symbol of thy royalty" (name that movie)

“A symbol of thy royalty” (name that movie)

Germany pavilion

Germany pavilion

IMG_1866

Oktoberfest!

Oktoberfest!

We reached Mexico earlier than we planned, and fortunately, they took us early!

View from La Hacienda

View from La Hacienda

Love those lamps

Love those lamps

celebratory dessert

celebratory dessert

La Hacienda dining room

La Hacienda dining room

We both ordered the fish tacos, and I had a wonderful rose margarita, which came topped with actual rose petals and was rimmed in Hyacinth flavored sea salt. It was like drinking the best perfume. I loved it. Dad, not so much. (I know a took a picture….it’s hiding somewhere. I’ll try to post it at some point.) And yes, even without the button, we got a celebratory dessert, because Dad told our waitress, Fatima (from Mexico City) about our celebration. You can see that above. It’s AMAZING.

Something strange happened here–two parties were seated, one after the other, and both got up and left before they even ordered anything! And the first couple had ADR, as seen by their print out that were were carrying in the restaurant. Weirdest thing I’d ever seen. Who does that?

Fortified by dinner and a strong cocktail (well, on my part) we went back around the showcase. It had stopped raining, thankfully. (This is when I took most of my pictures.)

At Snow White's wishing well in Germany

At Snow White’s wishing well in Germany

China

China

In Italy, I bought a necklace with Venetian glass pieces.

IMG_1869

Fountains in Morocco

Fountains in Morocco

Bella Italia

Bella Italia

At this point, we had seen all we wanted to see and it was about 8:30ish. Our feet were not super happy with us, so we decided to head back to the hotel and be back in our room so we could see the fireworks by 9:00. We made one stop on the way out so I could buy a t-shirt for my friend Mary.

Originally bought at Bonjour Village in the Magic Kingdom, I found one at Epcot for a friend back home.

Originally bought at Bonjour Village in the Magic Kingdom, I found one at Epcot for a friend back home.

3 thoughts on “Disney Journal No. 7: EPCOT!

    • ADR= Advanced Dining Reservations. AKA, what you want if you want to eat something at Disney that doesn’t involve eating on a bench. 🙂

Leave a Reply

