Disney Journal No. 8–batten down the hatches!

Thursday

So it rained part of every day I was at Disney. But on Thursday, we had a tropical storm. At first I just thought it was more rain; neither of us were reading the paper or really checking news sites, and we weren’t watching any TV (except hockey, sigh).

So I couldn’t do my normal morning swim, so I headed to the Solarium.

The solarium

The solarium

IMG_0775

main room of the solarium

main room of the solarium

IMG_0777

Custom art

Custom art

Hidden mickeys!

Hidden mickeys!

not really hidden. :)

not really hidden. 🙂

but this one was!

but this one was!

 

I loved the solarium. There was a TV on with Disney Chanel (natch) and Disney movies, and a lot of people were in and out since it was raining outside. I took my journals and books down there and did some reading and writing.

Dad joined me around 10:30, since the last conference session  ended early that morning, and we headed over to the Yacht Club to look for souvenirs for us and for mom and the siblings. Here I got a few more pins and my pin trading book (there is a whole post coming about pin collecting, folks), and a WDW Hoodie I’d been desiring. 😉 Then we headed back to the Beach Club where I did some pin trading, we headed up to the room and dropped our purchases, and had lunch at Beaches and Cream. We really liked Beaches and Cream. I had the tomato bisque and the six cheese grilled cheese and Dad had the falafel. I also taught him the wonders of Chocolate Diet Coke. (Trust me. It’s awesome.)

We went to the Solarium for a bit and then it stopped raining! So we could swim! Yay! I as especially keen to show Dad the whirpool I’d discovered inside Stormalong Bay.

whirpool lurking

whirpool lurking

It totally took me by surprise the first time I ended up inside, unawares! But it was a lot of fun. Really, everything about that pool was fun. We also conquered the lazy river although Dad wanted it to be faster (Dad. It’s a lazy river, I tell him…)….

Dinner was–where else?–Beaches and Cream.

We had an awesome waiter from Ohio and sat at the counter next to a dad and his three boys from Dublin.

My favorite photo from the trip.

My favorite photo from the trip.

 

(That sundae is a Milky Way Sundae. It’s really, really good.)

After dinner we headed over to the Boardwalk where–what else?–it started to rain. We bought a Mickey umbrella. And some more pins. 🙂

We ended our last full Day in Orlando with another viewing of the EPCOT fireworks show from our balcony.

 

 

Leave a Reply

