Music to knit by

I can talk while I knit, but since I live alone, that might lead to me talking to myself more than I really should be talking to myself.

So instead, I put on opera, because I can absorb the music without having to be “watching”, like I would if I was watching a TV show. I like watching opera much better than listening to the CDs, because I can look and see who’s singing and what’s going on on stage.

Mary and Leicester , Act I, Maria Stuarda

Mary and Leicester , Act I, Maria Stuarda

Last night I was talking to another opera-loving friend, and I realized I have a quite a few operas on DVD now! So here’s the list of “knitting music”, in no particular order. (And yes, I like a lot of Renee Fleming. I’m working on adding more Joyce to my collection):

  • The Ring Cycle (1990s at the Met)–German (four operas: Das Rheingold, Die Walkure, Siegfried, Gotterdamerung)
  • Arabella, with Renee Fleming–Italian
  • Otello, Renee Fleming and Placido Domingo–Italian
  • The Barber of Seville, Joyce DiDonato and Juan Diego Florez (this is the “Joyce in Wheelchair” version)–Italian   }
  • The Marriage of Figaro, Renee Fleming–Italian    } This and the above are part of the same story. The Countess in Marriage is Rosina in Barber.
  • Madama Butterly, Patricia Racette–Italian
  • Dialogues des Carmelites–French
  • Rodelinda, Renee Fleming–English
  • The Enchanted Island (LOVE this one!), Joyce DiDonato, Vanessa DiNesse–English
  • Don Giovanni, Renee Fleming, Bryn Terfel–Italian
  • Armida, Renee Fleming, Lawrence Brownlee–Italian
  • Eugene Onegin, Renee Fleming–Russian
  • La Traviata, Renee Fleming–Italian
  • Rusalka, Renee Fleming–Czech (This is one of Fleming’s signature roles, with one of her signature pieces, the “Song to the moon”.)
  • Manon, Renee Fleming–French (this is a looong one, but good)

So what do you think? Any picks for the next one I should watch?
If you knit or craft, do you listen to music while you do it? What’s your crafting music?

Leave a Reply

