Catholic Women’s Almanac No. 31

Wearing::

A khaki colored silk faille skirt from Talbot’s (I love, love full skirts); a red short-sleeved cashmere sweater (it’s not even 80 here today), black flats, red earrings a la Mary Crawley from my favorite Etsy shop.

Reading::

Nothing Daunted, for book club; it’s our August book. Also Keeping House, Organized Simplicity and the last book in my Austin series re-read, Troubling a Star.

In the CD Player::

a Mix CD I made a few years ago.

Around the house::

I had a “nothing on the schedule” weekend so I got to actual work down my to-do list. I cooked twice (glorious meals!) and cleaned the kitchen, as well as put some things back where they belonged. Today: vacuuming and mopping the kitchen floor.  The house is slooowly returning to its pre-show appearance.

From the kitchen::

Over the weekend I made two Rachael Ray recipes–Drunken Tuscan Pasta, which involves an entire bottle of Chiant and a meal based on her trip to Cinque Terre, in Italy. I had some timing issues with that one, since it was basically three small dishes that were being made at once. But I’m going to fix that, and make it again at some point, because it was just really good. Or it had the potential to be good before my can opener decided not to cooperate. Tonight is pasta with olives and Italian breadcrumbs.

Being healthy::

The back is cooperating, so some yoga tonight, I think. Dance classes are starting again at the end of August so I need to think about re-enrolling in those. It’s too cold to swim but it’s nice enough for a bit of post-dinner walking, if I’m so inclined.

Being creative::

Doing another round of editing to the novel I finished during last year’s NaNoWriMo. Also casting on a new knitting project since I finished the scarf, which actually sort of morphed into a really fun and ruffly sort of cowl thing, instead of a basic scarf. I have no idea how I did that. But it’s pretty! The new project is a bookmark. I keep re-casting on. I think I’ve got way too much tension and just need to be more “loose” with my yarn.

Praying for::

Thomas Peters

My cousin who is pregnant with her third child (yay!)

Some other special intentions

Plans for the week::

Haircut tomorrow because my hair is craaaazy long

Book Club on August 1 (For our July book)

Dominican chapter retreat and Dominican Rite Mass on Sunday.

Pondering::

AKA, “EVERYBODY CALM DOWN!” 

Also– the idea of keeping just things I love, from Organized Simplicity. I have a lot of books and movies. I am fairly sure I don’t love them all. Like, yes. Love? Not so much. So it’s time to get them out the door.

Leave a Reply

