Seven Quick Takes Vol. 26

7_quick_takes_sm1

I.

OK, this? This link? Please read it. And please answer A. Because if you answer any of the rest of them, you are totally missing the forest for the trees. And you need to calm the freak down.

II.

Expanding upon this theme: I also have problems with Catholics who are so focused on the tiny, the insignificant, and are so sure they are right about everything. This is why I don’t want to go to a Latin Mass, because the people I read/know that go to Latin Masses are such priggishly holier than thou that I cannot stand them. God doesn’t care if we laugh. God doesn’t care if we talk loudly. God doesn’t care that I’m wearing jeans, right this moment. God wants me to  live justly and walk with Him. How do Catholics do that? We go to Mass. We receive the sacraments. We pray. We read the Catechism. We try to become perfect.  But God isn’t some big fat traffic cop in the sky: YOU WORE PANTS! F!

III.

That doesn’t mean that I want to see slovenly worship or that “God doesn’t judge, He just loves. ” Um, no. Jesus could get pretty steamed (see, tables, the turning over of). There are things that are right and there are things that are wrong and there are lots of things that are left up to you.

IV.
OK, sorry guys, I had to get that out. 🙂  It’s something that’s been bothering me for a really long time. I’m breathing now. 🙂

V.

Tonight I’m making the Balsamic Strawberry Salad and Drunken Tuscan pasta for a Dominican Feast at my friend’s house. It shall be grand, and shall satiate my inner Grumpy Cat who has been meowing and wanting to claw people’s curtains into shreds all day.

VI.

Tomorrow I have dentist, and an audition, and a soccer game (Provided it doesn’t rain, for the soccer game.) I’m ready to rock the audition and have busted out my British accent.

VII.
And finally–I think I need to start watching Dr. Who, because it seems like I’m missing a lot of fun.

4 thoughts on “Seven Quick Takes Vol. 26

  1. (Linking from 7QT)

    Ah, yes. I agree. And Drunken Tuscan pasta sounds like fun. Cheers on your Dominican Feast!

    I have watched one episode of Doctor Who. Enough to make me want to keep on. But I hear the weeping angels are terrifying.

    Also, I am Anne Elliot. 😉

  2. This is why I don’t want to go to a Latin Mass, because the people I read/know that go to Latin Masses are such priggishly holier than thou that I cannot stand them.

    I understand you’re just venting, but I go to the Latin Mass and you and I seem to get along ok on the www. Don’t lump all traddies. And in turn traddies should not lump all Novus Ordo Catholics as well.

    • Oh you do! Well then you are the ONE NICE PERSON I have met! 🙂 Maybe I’ll give it a try. I think there’s a church around here that offers it occasionally. (But if you start telling me it’s a sin to laugh, it’s all over. :-P)

Leave a Reply

