Prosper the work of our hands

Recently, I took up knitting. I’ve been wanting to do this for many years, now, but somehow I never quite got the gist of it–how to cast on, how to actually knit. I liked to look at the pretty patterns and vibrant yarn shades in craft stores, but the actual art of sewing remained a mystery to me.

Last month, a friend of mine sat down with me and taught me to knit. One of the things she taught me is that knitting isn’t an art where you see immediate results. It takes time for the rows and shape of the item to come into being; in fact, for the first three or four rows of any project, it can look like large bit of knotted wool! I kept thinking I was doing it wrong. But by the time I reached 10, 20, or 30 rows, I could see that I was actually making something. There was form and beauty there, and probably a few mistakes. But for the most part, it was a recognizable object. The yarn had been turned, by my hands and the needles, into a piece of fabric that had uses.

Read the rest at Suscipio. 

Leave a Reply

