Various and Sundry

Time for some updates, since I’ve been bad about them. Sorry!

  • OK, first. This is a salad I created over the summer. People really like it. You should try it. (And yes, Jenny, here is lovely yummy food! It’s so good!)
  • Life Revamping Goes on, and this is how it goes:  I am definitely doing well in the “get up earlier” Sweeps. I’ve moved my get up time back 20 minutes, so 40 minutes to go until we hit the 6:30 goal time. The Kitchen needs major work–cleaning out the fridge, the cabinets, etc. and reorganizing–so that’s next up in the house revamping. I’m currently using the Book of Job for my lectio and really enjoying it. (Enjoying Job. I know. I’m weird.) I chose Job because I’d started reading it during my retreat to Nashville, and then left it when I got home, so I’ve decided to finish it and move on from there in terms of what book of the bible to read. I read a chapter a day. (In Job, some of those chapters are really short, but even then, I only read one chapter.)I’m also working my way though a book called The Artist’s Rule, which is about monastic habits in the creative life.
  • I’m also into rehearsals for And Then There Were None, which goes up in mid-October. I’m really enjoying working with such a fabulous cast and director, and bringing this character to life. I’ve modeled a lot of her on the White Rabbit from Alice In Wonderland, if that gives you any ideas. Last Friday we practiced the blocking for the end of Act I, where I have to faint, and I got a lovely bruise on my right leg from all the practiced falling (But I like it.) I really like the physicality of this character, how much she moves and how important putting the character in my body is here. One thing I recently read in an acting book is a lot of actors don’t act with their bodies–they only act with their faces. So I am consciously making an effort to act with my entire body–my fingers, hands, posture, feet, etc.
  • CCD catechist retreat was last Sunday and it was a lot of fun! I’ll be co-teaching 26 first graders and I am so ready to go!
One thought on “Various and Sundry

Leave a Reply

