Catholic Women’s Almanac No. 36

Outside my window::

It’s hot. Really, really hot. 90 today and 93 tomorrow. And my A/C is broken. I’m trying to imagine that, with my fans, I’m back at Summit, where there was no air conditioning in the guest quarters. Hopefully this will be fixed later today.

Wearing::

A blue flower print Boden dress, with a matching solid camisole under it; black flats.

In the CD player::

Eva Cassidy, Songbird

Reading::

I read a lot last week with my stomach bug (that’s where I was all week): The Princess Bride, Lumen FideiThe Silent Wife, The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving (those last two are Duck’s Cottage book club books).

Praying::

For Thomas Peters

For my pregnant friends

For peace in Syria

Around the house::

The usual, and changing the sheets. Of course if the A/C isn’t fixed I’ll just be a puddle on the couch. How did our ancestors survive without A/C? I shudder to think.

From the kitchen::

Heh, all those things I didn’t make last week because my stomach hated me. 🙂 So lemon fusili pasta tonight, one of my favorites.  Again, assuming I have some sort of A/C. But I love this meal so much I might make it and eat it in front of a fan.

Creating::

Almost done with Christmas Scarf No.3, in that gorgeous Quince and Co. yarn. Once that’s done, it’s on to scarf number 4, in peacock, with this yarn. 

Fun link::

I love anything about Colonial Williamsburg, so here’s a story about buckskin breeches, if you’re into that. 🙂

Plans for the week::

Lunch w/ Dad today and tomorrow

Les Miz cast reunion/dinner Tuesday

My brother turns TWENTY-EIGHT on Wednesday! Make it stop!

8 thoughts on “Catholic Women’s Almanac No. 36

  1. I hope you will be fully recovered from your bout with the stomach bug, so you can get on with your plans for the week. The bright side is that you got a lot of reading and knitting done 🙂

  2. Feel Better. And I’m so sorry about the AC. If you were local to me, I’d say come over. BODEN – I love their stuff. Cotton, comfy… feminine!
    The Silent Wife? I’m looking it up. I’m not good at being quiet. Never have been. Maybe I can learn. lol

    Have a great week.
    I’ll be praying for you.
    Em

    • Thanks Em. 🙂 Feels weird writing that since we share the same name.
      Well the wife is silent in a, er, not good way. So maybe you don’t want to learn from her.
      I LOVE Boden! Why can’t they open a store stateside?! WHHHYYYY?

      • I know. Hannas and mini-Boden were my go-tos since my child has to wear Cotton. I prefer online for Hannas since the stores are far. lol

        Ok – I’m skipping that book.

  3. Get better soon! I can’t even tell you what it was like growing up without AC. BRUTAL! Or better yet spending all day at the beach when you’re allergic to the sun and burn/blister! Fun times. Stay cool and get in the bathtub, often!
    xoxo
    Cristina

  4. I feel ya on the heat. And the humidity. If our AC went out well at least I live in an apartment and they have to take care of it. I would be in a hotel though otherwise lol. Hang in there!!

Leave a Reply

