Seven Quick Takes Friday Vol. 27

7_quick_takes_sm1

I.

Wow, been a long time since I’ve done one of these. But we’re back on the wagon today. 🙂

II.

Today I am intensively studying my lines; I want to get to the hallowed point of off-book (without the script) in rehearsals very soon. As in, if not this weekend, then next. I don’t have that many lines, but when I get them memorized I think it will really help my overall performance, since this character moves around a lot. So that’s my lunchtime project today, most likely.  Fortunately I’ve always been excellent at memorizing things and have a really good memory, so this isn’t usually something I worry about. It’s just a matter of repetition and putting in the time to do it.

Rehearsals are going well; a lot of the furniture pieces have been moved in and we’re working with some props. We open October 18th! Get tickets here, if you’re local. If you’re not, be sad that you’re going to miss it.  It’s a two weekend run, Friday and Saturday evenings and Sunday afternoons.

III.

The Christmas Scarf Project continues apace. Three are done now. There is a tiny mistake in all of them, which sort of annoys me, but I’m trying to let it go. It’s handmade. It’s not going to be perfect-perfect. People can deal. I started scarf No. 4 last night, and I have the yarn for scarf 5 and scarf 6 ready to go.  The next thing is attaching “handmade by_________” tags to each of these. We’ll see how that goes.

IV.

In other news, this is just crazy cool.

I especially enjoy this part:

Eventually, NASA said, the Voyagers will pass other stars, coasting and drifting and being pulled by gravity. The next big encounter for Voyager 1, in around 40,000 years, is expected to be a dwarf star dispassionately known as AC+793888 in the constellation of Camelopardalis.

Well, wow.

V.

It’s week two of CCD. This week we’re talking about God the Father. I’m really looking forward to seeing the kids again and seeing how they are in a more “normal” classroom setting than last week, which was not typical, as first days tend to be. I’m putting together a poster for our “saint of the month,” St. Martha, for the classroom.   Besides serving Jesus and her family, she apparently tamed a dragon. 

VI.

It is SUCH beautiful weather here! 70, the leaves are turning gold and orange, and my boots are on my feet. Truly a good day. Days like this make me want to hit German Village during my lunch break.  One of the things I truly love about Columbus is the micro-villages we have all over: German Village, the Short North, Victorian Village, the ares by campus, etc. It’s like traveling to another city to go to German Village and stroll around.

VII.

Finally, still life revamping.  The new wake-up thing is going really well, so I’m very pleased about that. No A/C this week put a damper on the working out and cleaning, for sure. Also the lectio practice continues to go well. I’m about done with the book of Job.

Leave a Reply

