Catholic Women’s Almanac No. 43

saint catherine of alexandria reading a book by marinari

Happy Feast of St. Catherine of Alexandria, Co-Patroness of the Dominican Order! πŸ™‚Β 

Outside my window::

Getting dark, and it’s COLD. Like in the teens at night cold. Brrr!

Wearing::

Black v-neck dress with a deep blue camisole, and black flats earlier, but those are off. My “grover” (my furry North Face Fleece, which is bright blue) is getting a lot of use as well these days.

In the kitchen::

Pasta, cacio e pepi, which is basically pasta with lots of cheese and pepper.

Reading::

St. Catherine of Siena’s dialogues. I should finish this tonight!

Fun links::

Pride and patridges: Jane Austen and food.Β 

Knitting as a feminist issue?Β 

Praying for::
Angela in her “cancer eradication” surgery today. πŸ™‚ (That’s what she’s calling it)

My pregnant friends

Around the house::

I have to start wrapping Christmas gifts. I did a lot of cleaning this weekend and my Advent wreath and my Nativity are both us. The tree is this weekend’s project. I only have work until Wednesday at noon, so aΒ niceΒ long holiday is in my future! Plenty of time to clean and deck the halls.

BeingΒ creative::

A bit less than 9,000 words left in NaNoWriMo sweeps! Yes! I also ordered a ton of new yarn today for a ridiculously low price, so I want to finish the scarf I have going on now and then clear my needles for the yarn that’s coming!

In the CD player::

Oh yeah, it’s Christmas music. πŸ™‚

Plans for the week::

In no particular order: Thanksgiving (well, on Thursday, duh); three Pure Barre classes; my brother coming over with his girlfriend; the OSU Michigan game; putting up the tree; seeingΒ Frozen, and going to a production of A Christmas Carol on Sunday. And I want to seeΒ Book Thief too!

Head over to Suscipio for more CWAs!

5 thoughts on “Catholic Women’s Almanac No. 43

  1. Love the Christmas Carol…so lucky you are…and time to get all the decorating done. I was going to start and good old hubby decides to demo a wall and now there is dust everywhere and there is not way I am going to be able to start decorating this week.

    Anyway, have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  2. You have it all together for Advent and Christmas, girl! I am inspired and motivated by people like you, honest! I hope to get my Advent ribbons and Nativity set sans the Baby Jesus out tomorrow.

    Enjoy “A Christmas Carol,” and I hope you do get to watch “The Book Thief.”

Leave a Reply

