Catholic Women’s Almanac No. 42

adventmusic

Monday of the First Week of Advent

Outside my window::
As Pooh would say, it’s a blustery day! Upper 40s, and sort of overcast, but there was some sun today.

Wearing::

A gray pleated skirt, purple top with a keyhole collar, black flats. It was Advent-y. 🙂

Reading::

A Dance With Dragons, One Thousand White Women. 

From the kitchen::

I made a crazy good Rachael Ray recipe on Saturday–beef and cider pot. Recipe forthcoming. It was so good! Tonight is another Rachael Ray recipe. Actually, this week is all Rachael. There’s also leeky chicken and cowboy spaghetti on the menu this week. I also need to menu plan for two dinner parties I’m giving this month.

Praying for::

Pregnant friends

a friend who just had twins!

Angela 

Creativity::

OK, there was another Christmas scarf. 🙂 So it’s being done, in beautiful shades. The skein is a variegated one called “Orchard” and wow do I love this. It actually sort of reminds me of a vineyard.

Oh, and I won NaNoWriMo! My novel is 50,000+ words written all in November. I won two days before Turkey Day but just forgot to post here. I am really happy with the novel as it stands. I’m letting it sit for the month of December and then post-Christmas I’ll come back and start the editing process, but I think it’s a pretty solid piece of work.

In the CD player::

The Frozen soundtrack. I know, I know. 🙂 It should be Advent music, and it was, but I just love this soundtrack. Review up next!

Advent::

Reading my Advent books-Come, Lord Jesus; Advent and Christmas with Pope John Paul II; The Greatest Gift. Also have the wreath up. And I love getting out the blue Vol. I of the Liturgy of the Hours. It just makes me so happy.

Pondering::

So, let us go forth together into this so tender, so sweet, and so demanding season, when our dear little all-powerful Redeemer wants to see a plowed-up heart, a  plowed-up spirit, with no hard clots of pride; but instead someone who has turned her swords into a plowshare upon herself; someone who has turned the spear into a pruning hook and is no depressed or discouraged, but is happy about what she will see, as everyone sees who sets out with a pruning hook: how much there is to be pruned and that there is no time to be lost.

–Mother Mary Francis, PCC, “Come, Lord Jesus: Meditations on the Art of Waiting”, First Sunday of Advent, Year A

Plans for the week::
Pure Barre classes Wednesday and Thursday; teaching CCD on Sunday (the nativity!), and also Lay Dominicans meeting on Sunday.

2 thoughts on “Catholic Women’s Almanac No. 42

Leave a Reply

