Catholic Women’s Almanac No. 45

waiting...soon He comes!

waiting…soon He comes!

Outside my window::

Cloudy, and a lot colder. It was almost 70 yesterday and we had rain all weekend, but it’s in the 30s now. Tomorrow it will be in the mid twenties. Brr! Quite seasonal though so I don’t mind.

Reading::

Finished One Thousand White Women and Yesterday, Today, Forever; the latter was better than the former. The former would have been better if it hadn’t been so slow to move, since it became very exciting towards the end. I’m eagerly anticipating Christmas books. 🙂

In the CD player::

One of Mannheim Steamroller’s Christmas CD–the one with Carol of the bells, O Holy Night, Veni Veni, Hark the Herald, and a few others. It’s my favorite of all their Christmas albums.

Christmas::

Gosh I can’t wait!!!! I love Christmas so much, it’s sort of crazy. Tomorrow starts with brunch with my friends, which is always a great time. After that I head over to my parents’  (the restaurant is on the way), where I’ll spend the night Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. We’ll go to 4:00 Mass at our parish, which will be glorious arrayed for  Christmas (I’ll post pictures), then dinner at Spaghetti Warehouse, and then back to the parents’ mason for the holiday. We do the sibling gift exchange on Christmas Eve, with the rest of the gifts on Christmas morning, followed by the most GLORIOUS breakfast of the year, and which I eagerly anticipate all year. It’s just cinnamon rolls and sausage links, but I love it. I am a big proponent of tradition, and this has been our breakfast for as long as I can remember, so I love seeing it re-appear every year.

In the spirit of West Wing’s State Dinner ep, this dress is what I’m wearing, and I shall endeavor to do my hair like this. (There are no mother-of-pearl toe buckles in sight, however.)

From the kitchen::
Not much, since I won’t be cooking the next two/three days. I did make these biscuits over the weekend and they were quite yummy! Note to the recipe: I used regular flour (2 c.), and “clabbered milk”, and they were still awesome.

Around the house::
Packing, last-minute gifts to pack up, cleaning out the trunk of my car so everything will fit, and then a bit of general tidying, to make room for Christmas stuff and c.

Plans for the week::

Other than the obvious? 🙂 Christmas family reunion kicks off on Friday, then Blue Jacket/Pens game on Sunday!

Leave a Reply

