Resolutions

january 2014

I am terrible at resolutions.

I always have been. When I was a kid it was stuff like “I will not bite my nails.” Given that I just ripped off another one, you can see that this resolution has never been kept. Part of it is my grandparents’ disdain at the sound of long fingernails clacking on piano keys (Grandpa always said girls should keep their nails short, so this didn’t happen), part of it is I can’t grow long nails (thanks, CF finger clubbing, although mine’s not as bad as some other people’s), and part of it is….I just do it. If Jackie Kennedy did it, I guess I can do it too, with no serious loss of face, although I do try to keep a nail file with me to keep hangnails from appearing. And yet…they do.

In my family we didn’t have a tradition of making a big show of new year’s, or resolutions. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve tried, with varying success, to make resolutions and keep them, but they’ve never lasted very long.

I’m good at short-term things: like NaNoWriMo. I’m great at that. Writing every day for a month? That I can do. But then the habit lapses.

There are a few things that I do regularly: take meds (I know, how thrilling!), say my Divine Office, read, Mass. The rosary, usually, although some days it’s said right before bed and I fall asleep while I’m saying it.

But this year I’m going to try to make it different. I’ve got a few days left of break and while I have a cold right now (it’s been hanging around for the better part of this month and I am determined to get rid of it in the next few days, if not today), there are some habits I want to instill this year, for certain:

  • Daily writing–either blogging, journaling, editing novels, or something else.
  • Attending Mass at least once during the work week, every week.
  • Getting up earlier. This is a habit I actually started working on this year, and it’s worked fairly well, but now I need to push it back even farther. My goal is to be up by 7 AM on a daily basis, so I’ve got about 20 minutes to shave off here.
  • Daily Bible reading. Again, another habit I started this year, but it’s been hit or miss. I’m hoping that by waking up earlier I can add this to the time I’ll gain in the AM.
  • The fitness habit–be more consistent.

So there are five things there, which I’m going to attempt to incorporate one at a time, starting with the getting up one. I’m hoping that by getting up earlier I’ll have more time in the morning to do things like read the bible. Working out in the morning will not happen unless I get up much earlier, which I don’t think will ever happen. Seven is probably the earliest I can coax my body to get up on a regular basis.

So if I can incorporate one a month, that puts me at the beginning of June for having these instituted. Of course the last one needs to be fleshed out a bit more. Goals need to be specific in order for them to be achieved. So off the top of my head, let’s say three hour long workouts a week–minimum. Once we establish that, we’ll go from there.

Do you make resolutions? If so, what are yours for 2014?

Leave a Reply

