Who sinned, this man or his parents?

As Jesus passed by He saw a man blind from birth. His disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind? Jesus answered, “Neither he not his parents sinned; it is so that the works of God may be made visible through him.”

–John 9:1-3

 

life-verse

 

This is my life verse; it’s my favorite verse in my favorite Gospel.

Many times, I’ve had people tell me that I haven’t been “healed” or “cured” (pick a word) because I haven’t prayed enough. I haven’t had enough faith. I haven’t whatever. They haven’t used Old Testament terminology and said I (or my parents) sinned, but it’s implied that there is something deficient about my faith, or my life, or my prayers. I haven’t tried hard enoughI have not been enoughI am being punished.

To put it succinctly: Bosh.

I love this verse, because it refutes all those thoughts. The works of God can be displayed in infirmity and in imperfection.

I know of a few times in my life this has been true. My college boyfriend was sort of areligious, but I got him to go to Mass with me. I know he kept a rosary in his pocket sometimes, and I know he prayed it for me, when things were in dire straits. I know he and another friend went to Mass at at the Dominican church in Zanesville (without me), to just take it in, and maybe pray. I haven’t seen him in many years now, but I sort of hope those seeds bore fruit, in some way.

I’ve had people tell me that I’m some sort of miraculous being. Maybe so. I don’t know. I get uncomfortable when people call me a hero or whatever, because heroes are other types of people, not me. But if my life is some sort of example or help to them, well, OK. I’ll take it.

I have no idea all of what God wants to do with me, and that’s OK. But I hope that the works of God might be seen through me, and in my life. I do want people to see that those of us who aren’t perfect aren’t useless. We’re not bad or less than or not worth a life.

God has a plan for this. He has a plan for all of this. Even in imperfection, loss, less-than-ness. There is such grace.

 

 

Leave a Reply

