Seven Quick Takes No. 48

7_quick_takes_sm1

 

I.

It is totally summer here. The pool in my complex is being cleaned and prepped for the season, it was EIGHTY-EIGHT degrees yesterday, the A/C is on–man. I’m so glad. After the winter we had, I will not be complaining about heat this summer. Nope. Nope. Nope nope. I am ready for it!

II.

Speaking of things I’m ready for–Disney World is one of them. Yes, I’m always ready for Disney, but after the winter we had, I really want to have “A drink in my hand/ my snow up against the burning sand” as Olaf would say. The idea of sitting by Stormalong Bay with raspberry iced tea, a book, and a lobster roll post morning swim is so enticing. As is getting to ride all the rides with Extra Magic Hours at Magic Kingdom and Epcot.

III.

Second weekend of Music Man rehearsals start tonight. We’re starting blocking (yes, already) and working on Act I music. Have I mentioned my deep love for rehearsals? I do. I love rehearsals. I love theater. And I’m really loving this show.

IV.

My best friend and I were talking about scheduling and getting ready in the morning yesterday, so I thought I’d share one of my favorite, er, “Life Hacks”, I suppose: keep the makeup you wear everyday in your makeup bag–and nothing else. Keep the fun colors for going out or summer waterproof stuff or whatever in a separate bag so that when you get ready in the morning, everything you know you need is right in the makeup bag you use every day. Also, I get my makeup brushes out the night before, put them in a little cup (so they’re standing up) and it makes it so much easier than digging through my brush bag and going, “Where is that #(%)(!%&() eyeshadow brush!?”

V.

A plea to the ladies: Know how your car works. Really. Like, how to add wiper fluid, how to change the head/tail lights, how to jumpstart a dead battery (keeping cables in your trunk is highly recommended), etc. I’m not saying you need to know how to change your oil by yourself, or even change a flat tire (although these are useful skills, and for the flat tire one, you should probably have a basic idea), but basic car knowledge is a good thing for everyone to have! And boys, you need to know how to do this, too. I’m just noticing it more in my female friends. I have found the one about jumper cables and car batteries to be crazy useful. Also, doesn’t hurt to keep a first aid kit in the car, one of the little $5 ones you see at Target. You never know.

VI.

Reading: This week I read Peony In Love and Michael Cunningham’s The Snow QueenPeony was really breathtaking. I had no idea where it was going, but when I figured it out, I totally bought the plot line, hook, line and sinker. I’m going to have to read it again soon. I highly recommend it. The Snow Queen is a lot like Cunningham’s other book (and one of my perennial favorites) The Hours, in that it’s a bit stream-of-consciousness but full of beautifully detailed writing that speaks to the human experience. Not everyone likes the way he writes, but if you do, this is a good one for you. If you’ve never read him, read Mrs. Dalloway and then read The Hours. I’m telling you, you will be rewarded. (And more people should read Virginia, anyway.)

VII.

Speaking of books–give me book suggestions for Florida. I always want suggestions of what people love to read, and I read anything except those cheap (and, OK, let’s be real) crappy romance novels that are in tiny paperback on racks at the grocery.

Leave a Reply

