Getting stronger and faster

athlete

The Olympic motto is “Faster, higher, stronger.”

It could also be the pulmonary rehab motto.

I’ve been doing this program since March this time, and no, I’m not any closer (I don’t think) to running a marathon. But I am noticing changes in my body–things shifting, dropping a size, and my functional strength is much better.

When I went to the pool this weekend, I could swim two laps (they’re small laps, the pool is small) without stopping. Last year that wasn’t happening. Now it is. I can hoist myself out of the pool again, so my arms are definitely stronger than they were before I started. I feel happier in my body.

Will I ever run a marathon? Well, probably not. But am I looking forward to hiking in Hocking Hills this summer? Yeah, I am. I’m looking forward to being able to climb stairs without feeling like I’m going to die.

This is all possible because I had to make my health the first priority. I have to make sure I am getting enough sleep (for me, that’s nine hours, usually). I have to make sure that I am meal planning, buying healthy food, and focusing on what I need to eat, and what will help me reach my goals, as opposed to derailing them. And yeah, it’s basically a full time job, having to keep all of this straight, making most of my meals, and working out for an hour three times a week at the rehab sessions.

There have been days when I’ve been so frustrated with my body’s inability to do the things I want it to, that I’ve cried. Yup, I have. Gonna admit it.

But I am noticing changes, and they’ve been all for the good. I’m not going to be on the cover of SI’s swimsuit issue in this life. But I’m OK with that.

 

 

One thought on “Getting stronger and faster

  1. Have you ever considered publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other
    blogs? I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss and would really like to have you share
    some stories/information. I know my visitors would appreciate your work.

    If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

Leave a Reply

