Yarn Along No. 7

 

 

This week’s is very similar to last week’s. OK, it’s the same thing, except in an awesome color. This is Zinnia–isn’t it lovely? I am in love with this color, and the yarn is great. It’s soft and springy, which is perfect for a washcloth, right? I actually knitted up a washcloth in this color last week but it was a present for someone–when I saw it came out perfectly, I thought it would make a great little housewarming gift–and I started another immediately, this time for me.

IMG_1427

Details: Size 6 sunstruck needles, Zinnia Comfy Sport yarn. The pattern is really simple–cast on 50 stitches, and then garter stitch the whole thing. If this one comes out well, I’ll be moving on next week to a stockinette stitch washcloth, and then a basket weave one. I have a bunch of sport yarn in my stash that I had marked for washcloths/dishcloths. After that, it’s on to a new scarf in basket weave, so you can see why I want to work on my skills in the washcloth area first!

Book: Kathleen Norris’Β Dakota: A Spiritual Geography. I read herΒ Cloister Walk (well, re-read it) a week or so ago, and I wanted to read this book of hers which I hadn’t, as of yet. It talks about her moving back to her grandmother’s house in western South Dakota after spending her adolescence in Hawaii and her college and young adult years in the Northeast, and how she felt called back to the place her family called home. Β A nice read.

 

Leave a Reply

