Daybook No. 71

Outside my window::

Clear blue skies. Going to be another warm day, so I might go swimming at some point. The nice thing about the pool being open when the kids are back in school means there’s more time for “adult swim”, so to speak.

Wearing::

Just my PJs. I slept of 12 hours last night. I must have needed it because I’m never in bed by 9:00, but I was last night. Perhaps the last vestiges of surgery stuff? Who knows. But I’m taking it slowly this morning.

Reading::

Mansfield Park, The Joy Luck Club, Women of the Word, The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds, Summa of the Summa. Yes, I’m back to good ol’ Aquinas, after being inspired to take him up again at my Dominican Laity’s Day of Recollection this past Sunday. There was a lot of talk about Aquinas, so I’m back to the Cliff Notes version of the Summa, as it were. πŸ™‚

Fitness::

Back to rehab yesterday. It was nice to be back. I’d missed working out, if you can believeΒ that! We didn’t run yesterday but we probably shall at tomorrow’s session.

Rhythm::

Man, my rhythm everywhere is out of whack–housekeeping, sleeping, prayer, everything. Yesterday I just had total inertia once I got home from the hospital. I didn’t want to do anything, I was so tired. I could have gone to bed for good at 6:00! So today I’m going to imitate the Little Engine That Could and work through things slowly and methodically. Some of this is a result of surgery; it just throws off everything. So I need to get back into a rhythm of prayer, cooking, housekeeping, all that stuff.

CCD also resumes in TWO WEEKS, so I have to start planning the first two lessons, which is also on today’s agenda. The first class isn’t especially difficult–it’s mostly rules and paperwork sorts of things–but I still want an outline of sorts.

Pondering::

This year has flown by. I mean it seems like it was just March and here we are back to fall. Relativity of time, indeed.

Writing::

Adding more structure and chapters to the memoir, but waiting also for the beta reader feedback. So it’s mostly ideas I’m playing with about structure and things that should be in the book, at least in my mind.

Knitting::

Dawdling like crazy on this washcloth but I hope to have it cast off and a new project started in time for tomorrow’s Yarn Along!

Photo to share::

perfect rose from my church's rose garden.

perfect rose from my church’s rose garden.

Leave a Reply

