Daybook: Christmas Season

IMG_0614

Outside my window::

Bright, sunny, and windy. Seasonal–so in the 30s. It was almost 60 degrees on Christmas Eve!

Wearing::

Jeans, grey flats, a blue tank top, a new cardigan (same as the photo below) , and sparkly earrings. It’s the holidays, it means party time in the clothes department. 🙂

IMG_0596

Reading::

Wow, what am I not reading? I got three books for Christmas: The Romanov Sisters, The Little French Kitchen, and Elizabeth of York, about Henry VII’s wife (and Henry VIII’s mother). I’ve finished The Romanov Sisters (good, but nothing really new in there), I’m marking up French Kitchen with stickies to mark recipes I want to try, and I’ve dipped into Elizabeth.

I also bought: In Cold Blood, The Mark of the Midnight Manzanilla, and Mastering the Art of French Eating. I’m reading both French Eating and Cold Blood, and I finished Manzanilla earlier today. That one is part of the Pink Carnation series, which I’ve been reading since its inception. There are eleven books in the series and the last one comes out next year. Whenever there’s a new one it always makes me want to go back and read the older ones, so I see a reading of the series in my future. 🙂

Basically, I’m being a Christmas book glutton.

Oh, and I almost forgot! Lara Casey’s Make it Happen. People. Go get this. Now. It’s amazing.

10856578_10152879422460071_634340234240667152_o

In the CD player::

The Christmas music. 🙂 I try to rotate through all of them as much as possible, so Renee Fleming’s is up next.

Movies::

I watched Babette’s Feast last night, and I loved it. It’s such a “me” movie–France, Food, Faith. The three Fs, if you will. 🙂 The feast! Oh my gosh. And the part at the end about art….really, it’s a gorgeous movie. It will make you hungry. watch it. Please. 🙂

Pondering::

Why there are tablets everywhere I go. I admit, I’m prone to checking my phone when I’m bored, but I am really good at leaving it in my bag, unnoticed and unused, when I’m in church, when I’m with people, when I’m at the movies, etc. It’s not an umbilical cord for me.
But lately I’ve seen more and more kids with it all the time–at Mass, at nice restaurants, everywherelike they can’t be without it, and it’s sort of ude. What are these kids learning? That they have to be constantly stimulated? That they can be rude to people? (Because it is rude, to ignore the waiter who’s waiting to take your order, if you’re trying to beat level 3067 on Candy Crush, or whatever and he’s waiting for your drink order.)

At Mass I see 8-9-10 year olds playing around instead of paying attention. Guys. Why is this happening? Why have we become so involved in our screens? Why are we not involved in the people around us? Also, why must we be “available” all the time? Really? ALL THE TIME?

Also, I’ve noticed that I’m a lot happier when I’m not on Facebook 24/7. It’s a great resource, and I do connect to people with it. There are things I like about it. But geez, I’ve been so much happier without living on it during the holidays. There’s a lesson there.

(Lara Casey’s new book Make it Happen is huge on this part. Absolutely huge.)

Around the house::

Decluttering, cleaning closets, mopping, vacuuming, putting things away. The general post-Christmas insanity and I’m trying to defeat it. 😛

Food::

Making chocolate gingerbread as a new year’s day dessert, and also the Guinness Cake for a party of sorts on Friday. Tomorrow is sweet and sour pork, because for some reason I eat Chinese on New Year’s Eve. Why is this?

family::

I had a great time with my family over Christmas–seeing all my aunts, uncles, cousins, and my sister, who was here from Houston (she leaves tomorrow) is always fun. Especially when there are cute little children that read books to me and cal my name and ask to sit in my lap. I love that part. 🙂

Leave a Reply

