Seven Quick Takes No. 62

seven-quick-takes-friday-2

I.

So, yesterday I promised you the saint and word of the year. Let’s kick this off with the saint, shall we?

The winner according to the Saint Generator is:

St. Isaac Jogues

I greatly enjoy this quote from him:

My confidence is placed in God who does not need our help for accomplishing his designs. Our single endeavor should be to give ourselves to the work and to be faithful to him, and not to spoil his work by our shortcomings. – Saint Isaac Jogues

All right then! St.Isaac and I are going to have a good year together. I hope. πŸ™‚

II.

Now, the word of the year!

I started doing this last year for the first time. Here’s the entry about that.

This year the word is:

TRUST.

It’s a big lesson I learned last year, and this year, we’re going to continue working on it. It’s not something that you learn once. It’s something you learn over and over and over again.

If I love Him, I trust Him. I have to believe Him. If you don’t trust the person you love….do you really love them? Do you believe they love you?

Jesus loves us all the time. God is always good, and we are always loved. (Ann Voskamp) Trusting in that is sure.

III.

I’ve finished more of the Christmas books:Β In Cold Blood last night (it was OK…I’m not sure, really, what everyone’s going on about….but it had its moments);Β Mastering the Art ofΒ French EatingΒ was amazing, and I highly recommend it. I’m readingΒ Elizabeth of York right now, and I’m about to startΒ The Death Class, which, OK, sounds super morbid, but you know…it looked good. It’s about a nurse who teaches a class about…death…to college students, who inevitably fill up the class every semester. Like, it’s a wait-list class. So I’m curious to read this. It was on the same “best of” list asΒ Mastering. I also have a book of Knitting essays by a bunch of writers.

IV.

Speaking of knitting, I’ve been working with the new yarn and needles I got for Christmas. The first thing I always do with new fingering weight yarn is make a bookmark, so that’s what I’ve got going now. I messed up the tension at the beginning so the border looks a bit odd, but that’s OK. It’s really gorgeous yarn, Knit Picks Palette.

V.

So how about the OSU/Bama game, huh? I have to admit, I thought Bama was going to crush OSU. I was definitely pleasantly surprised. Now I have something fun to watch the night before my colonoscopy. πŸ˜› OH JOY! Also, Bucks and Ducks just sounds fun.

VI.

from the food front: I’ve made two Nigella desserts in the last two days: Chocolate Gingerbread and the Famous Guinness Cake. The gingerbread is REALLY good (I may or may not be eating a piece at this moment for “breakfast”), and the Guinness cake is always good. I need to frost it later today. You can’t frost it until it’s completely cool, and that takes awhile. So there’s a lot of chocolate in the house right now.

VII.

And I’ll leave you with a cute Christmas photo:

IMG_0583

My sister with my cousin’s four month old son. Cute!

3 thoughts on “Seven Quick Takes No. 62

  1. Pingback: More on this year’s word | Living Adventurously

Leave a Reply

