Oscar Special!

OK I love the Oscars. I love movies. I really do. This year, however, I’ve been so bad, and I haven’t seen any of the best picture nominees! I’m hoping to rectify that this weekend by seeing American Sniper with my brother. But anyway, in the spirit of Oscar awesome, I share the top five categories:

Best Picture:

Boyhood
Birdman
Selma
Theory of Everything
Imitation Game
Grand Budapest Hotel
American Sniper
Whiplash

Best Actress (*=they have won an Oscar previously)
Julianne Moore, Still Alice
Felicity Jones, The Theory of Everything
Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
Reese Witherspoon, Wild *
Marion Cotillard, Two Days, One Night *

Best Actor
Michael Keaton, “Birdman”
Eddie Redmayne, “The Theory of Everything”
Benedict Cumberbatch, “The Imitation Game”
Steve Carell, “The Foxcatcher”
Bradley Cooper, “American Sniper”

Best Supporting Actor
Robert Duvall, “The Judge”
Ethan Hawke, “Boyhood”
Edward Norton, “Birdman”
Mark Ruffalo, “Foxcatcher”
J.K. Simmons, “Whiplash”

Best Supporting Actress

Patricia Arquette, “Boyhood”
Laura Dern, “Wild”
Keira Knightley, “The Imitation Game”
Emma Stone, “Birdman”
Meryl Streep, “Into the Woods” *

Best Director
Alejandro González Iñárritu, “Birdman”
Richard Linklater, “Boyhood”
Bennett Miller, “Foxcatcher”
Wes Anderson, “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Morten Tyldum, “The Imitation Game”

Best Animated Feature

“Big Hero 6″
“The Boxtrolls”
“How to Train Your Dragon 2″
“Song of the Sea”
“The Tale of the Princess Kaguya”

So I am woefully behind in my movie watching. American Sniper comes out this weekend and I’m liking the buzz for it. In the  best actor category I am so torn–Michael Keaton grew up near my dad (true story–my mom sat next to him in church one time); I love Eddie Redmayne. Both he and Keaton won Golden Globes for Best actor in a comedy and drama, respectively. This makes Bradley Cooper’s third Oscar nomination in as many years (Silver Linings Playbook, American Hustle).

So I need to see some movies, stat. 🙂 And then report back!

2 thoughts on “Oscar Special!

  1. Pingback: Seven Quick Takes No. 64 | Living Adventurously

  2. Pingback: Seven Quick Takes Friday No. 65 | Living Adventurously

Leave a Reply

