Seven Quick Takes No. 68

seven-quick-takes-friday-2

I.
Happy Friday, everyone!! 🙂 how was your week? Mine was little hit or miss–there was lots of super-busy, so I fell down on the writing, but that was also due to a bad case of writer’s block, which I think I have figured out how to overcome! So that made me happy. One of my goals for February is to have an ending on my manuscript, so this will get me closer to that goal.

II.

As I write this, it’s 10 degrees outside, but tomorrow, the low will be 0, and on Sunday, the high will be…..nine. I hope my car starts in time for CCD, let me tell ya! (It’s old. It has a newish battery, but it’s still old.) So we’re veering toward Hoth-ish territory, but–praise Jesus–I don’t see any negative numbers in the forecast. Wheee!

III.

Wednesday starts Lent. I shall now direct you to my Lenten Practices series!

Seriously, though, as I’ve gotten older, I’ve started to like Lent more. This year I’ve got the Women’s conference and a silent retreat lined up, both of which are enjoyable things to me.

IV.

Time for some kid funny.

Part one:

me on my grandmother's lap, with my grandfather and one of my aunts behind.

me on my grandmother’s lap, with my grandfather and one of my aunts behind.

I’m not entirely sure what’s happening here but man I am excited about it.

V.

Part Two:

Last week in CCD, we were talking about the Last Supper, the Eucharist, and Transubstantiation. The kids got all those things, no problem. One of the girls raises her hand:

Me: Yes?

Her: So, what did the kids drink?

Me: Oh, you mean instead of the wine? (She nods) Um….they probably drank wine. There wasn’t any soda, or water that was healthy to drink….no apple juice or anything like that. They might have had goat’s milk, I guess? But wine was a pretty common thing.

Her: THE KIDS DRANK WINE?

So, for the record: the kids were fine with transubstantiation. Understanding that kids in Biblical Time probably drank wine, however, threw them for a huge loop.

VI.

Posts from this week, ICYMI: Daybook, Teaching Science and Math like Snape!

VII.

Valentine’s Day plans, anyone? Here it involves me and a Guinness Cake. Not that there’s anything wrong with that! 

Leave a Reply

