“I’m an author!”

Remember that scene in Little Women when Jo goes to get the mail and finds $5 for a story she submitted to a magazine? She comes running back into the house yelling, “Five whole dollars! I’m an author!”

I’m not really sure what the twenty-first century equivalent of this would be; maybe the New Yorker or First Things publishing poetry or a sketch? Not sure.

But in the spirit of Jo March, I’m unveiling my official author site to all of you:

Screen Shot 2015-04-06 at 3.19.17 PM

This is my official “home” for my authorial things on the web. Its purpose is to talk about my writing projects, where they are in completion, and update readers on what I’m writing around the web and chronicle my Journey to Get The Book Published.

One of the things agents and publishing houses are looking for these days is an online “platform”. This site is my part of that. It’s a huge help in getting things published in the agents/houses know that you already have an audience for the things you write.

On the site we have three main pages:

1) The About Me: this is similar to the one on this blog, but more professional and less off-the-cuff. This talks about my background, my education and work, and various awards/accolades I’ve won.

2) The blog: that is, this page. Self-explanatory, right?

3)  My Writing: This is the meat of the site. Each project I’m working on (big projects) has its own page under the menu. If you hover over “my Writing”, four projects will show up, in alphabetical order.

The first one is “Everything is Grace”, which is the new working title for The Big Book. I explain where we are in the writing/revising process, why I’m writing it, and Why It’s Different Than All The Other CF/Transplant Books Out There.

Second is “Pilate’s Wife”, a short story I wrote in 2010. This is completed and I have plans for releasing it to the public….but you’ll have to subscribe to my author site to hear more about that. 🙂

Third is “The Gift of Snow”, my medical drama/Downton Abbey/ Royal Family Mash-Up that I wrote for 2013’s NaNoWriMo. (The queen is a Countess Violet relative, I swear.)

Finally is my first completed (meaning a story with a clear beginning, middle, and end) novel, “The Undesirables.” This is my 2012 NaNoWriMo winner. This story is a sort of medical drama/dystopian novel with opera and lawyering mixed in.

Each page has a brief synopsis of the piece, plus some behind the scenes notes about the writing of it, and where it is in my editing process. Some are much father along than others.

I’m working with the excellent Cristina on making all this change happen–there’s no way I could do all this without her!

This blog is also, as I mentioned above, linked to the Author Page, so you can find everything I write there–it’s one-stop shopping, which we all like! And, as I mentioned above, this is a big step in helping me be a legitimate writer in the eyes of the Writing Powers That Be.

So, if you’d really like to help me, and get extra goodies, please pop over to the site and sign up for updates. You sign up for updates, you get goodies, a sneak peek into my pieces, behind-the-scenes look at my writing life, and maybe the chance to be a beta reader and tell me what you think! (Because who doesn’t like sharing their opinion, right?)

2 thoughts on ““I’m an author!”

  1. Pingback: Seven Quick Takes Vol. 73 | Living Adventurously

  2. Pingback: Daybook No. 96 | Living Adventurously

Leave a Reply

