Seven Quick Takes Vol. 74

seven-quick-takes-friday-2

I.

Welcome to a sunny spring day. ūüôā I just want to curl up in the puddles of sunshine like a cat. However, I will be sure to get out today and enjoy this weather!

II.

This week I’ve been really watching what I eat and weighing myself every morning. I know that does not sound like a load of fun. But for me it’s good to keep track on the numbers so I can adjust my plans when necessary. I want to lose a substantial (read: more than two pounds) amount of weight before my next clinic appointment in early June, so that means being on top of these things. I should¬†probably¬†do a Whole 30. I’ve been thinking about it for a long time and I have the book upstairs, but….I keep saying “I love my coffee creamer!” (Which I do.)

The time has come, people, to just Do It. (Mayhap with modifications. Because me and dairy, we’re tight, and vitamin D/calcium are quite important for my bones given my CF history of malabsorption of vitamins. But I’ll ponder.)

I shall keep y’all updated.

III.

My new editorial calendar is all set up for the next few weeks, and I’m excited about this .

Screen Shot 2015-04-17 at 9.55.53 AM

Essentially, I’m working with Trello for my calendar. It’s a flow where I have my ideas column, then every step in between. This way I keep all my projects organized and I have a sense of what’s going where, when. It also means that this site and my author site (please follow!) will have regular, high-quality content being posted. That’s exciting!

Some of the topics coming up are: a tour of my office; confession 101; my writing process, and Jane Austen’s views on marriage.

IV.

It’s Donate Life month, y’all. As you know, I am a big supporter of organ donation, because without it, I’m not here. Really. I would’ve been dead before my twenty-fourth birthday. That’s pretty sobering stuff.

But because Suzanne, a woman in Minnesota, decided to be an organ donor, I am here, writing to you. ūüôā

There are more than 123,000 people on the waiting list for an organ donor. That’s more than the amount of people that can fit inside Ohio Stadium during an OSU game. 21 people die each day waiting for an organ–when I received my lungs, that number was 18.

To find out more about organ donation, go here. And please consider being an organ donor. I’ve had an entire¬†decade¬†of life I would not have gotten otherwise, thanks to my donor.

V.

For your viewing enjoyment:

A

VI.

I’m reading¬†Ivanhoe¬†right now, and I’m more than 60% done with it. I have to ask–Why is it called¬†Ivanhoe? Because he’s¬†barely been involved at all.¬†

VII.

I’m teaching the CCD kids about the Ascension this week. Since we covered the Assumption last week, they should be OK with this. We’re also throwing in a dash of apostolic succession, because,¬†why not?

Leave a Reply

