Dirt Under My Nails: My First Container Garden

garden large

I’ve always been jealous of great gardens. My grandma always had perfect flowers and a tomato plant in her backyard; one of my favorite things to do with my grandpa was pick tomatoes from the vines and bring them to my grandma for use in summer dinners. There were always a few tomatoes on her kitchen windowsill, and her flowers were perfectly planted in the brick planters that bordered their front porch. My grandpa, a fierce gardener, also planted snapdragons around the lamppost in the front yard.

But as much as I loved this garden, I never really got to have my own. My house growing up had a really shady back yard, and the front yard faced north, which limited the amount of sunshine the plants received. My parents do put in annuals, like petunias and marigolds, every year, but since I rent, I can’t really put them in the landscaping. (The one time I tried this, they were uprooted and plowed over and covered with mulch. Fail.)

Now, though, I’m going to try my hand at a small container garden. This year, I’m focusing on herbs, and only herbs, but if they go well, I might branch out into flowers next year. In fact, I already have plans for some tulips in the front yard (tulips, based on what I’ve seen in other yards here, do well with the landscape abuse!)

So this is what I have so far:

  • A planter, left behind by the last tenant, that sits on my back porch and gets plenty of sunshine (it faces west);
  • Two packs of seeds–basil and cilantro, both of which I use a lot in recipes.

What I need to get:

  • Appropriate potting soil

Fortunately it’s not time to plant here in Ohio yet. That’s not until nearer the end of the month. So I need to figure out what type of potting soil to get, and how much of it, and then I can plant my seeds around memorial day…and hope for the best!

Do you keep a garden? What are your best gardening tips? Leave them in the comments!

trying my hand at container gardening! @emily_m_deardo

Leave a Reply

