Thumper Speaks Wisdom

Seriously, what girl hasn’t thrown herself on her bed and cried over a relationship? 

Emily Cooks: Slow-Roasted Tomato Soup

I love Tomato Soup. But, I don’t have a blender or an immersion stick or a food processor. So most of my tomato soup has been bought.

Until I read Gwyneth Paltrow’s My Father’s Daughter, which includes two recipes for slow-roasted tomato soup, one of them which requires no blending or processing!

So I made it tonight (for lunch tomorrow….and I ate the extra….man it’s good)

I add sharp grated cheddar to it as a finish. YUM. 

If you slow roasted some tomatoes during the summer, they are added to this recipe. If you didn’t—go ahead and slow-roast some this weekend. They will not have the lovely summer tomato taste, but they will be infinitely better having been roasted and their juices and sugars concentrated.

Slow Roasted Tomato Soup

serves four 

3 tbsp. EVOO

2 large cloves garlic, peeled and thinly sliced (I used 4 cloves, b/c I like garlic.)

4 large, fresh basil leaves (or a heck of a lot of dried basil. It’s winter here. No fresh. )

1 28 oz. can whole peeled tomatoes with their juices

16 pieces (or as many as you have) slow roasted tomatoes, roughly chopped

coarse salt

freshly ground black pepper

shredded sharp cheddar (for garnish, optional) 

Heat the EVOO in a large, heavy pot over medium heat. Add the garlic and cook, stirring, for two minutes. Add the basil, tomatoes and their juice, and 1/2 can of water. Bring to a boil, turn heat to low, and simmer uncovered for 40 minutes. Stir in the slow roasted tomatoes and season to taste with salt and pepper. Tear additional basil leaves (if using) over the top of the soup, and drizzle each portion with EVOO and grinds of pepper. Add cheese here (if using)

*I found it useful to cut the tomatoes in half with my spoon while the soup was simmering: makes it easier!Â