Seven Quick Takes Friday Vol. 25

7_quick_takes_sm1

I.

So we’re starting with this quote, which I got from Elizabeth F.

The father of a daughter is nothing but a high-class hostage. A father turns a stony face to his sons, berates them, shakes his antlers, paws the ground, snorts, runs them off into the underbrush, but when his daughter puts her arm over his shoulder and says, ‘Daddy, I need to ask you something,’ he is a pat of butter in a hot frying pan. ~Garrison Keillor

Yup.

II.

Going to post my prayer requests again, in case you missed it.  There are just a crazy amount this week.

III.

So after I posted this last night, I made lots of scarf progress! I have no idea how long I want this thing to be, in exact inches, but it’s for me, so that is a general guide to length. Maybe until I run out of yarn? 🙂 (I have two skeins of this color so I’m pretty good for awhile. And I won’t need that much yarn.)

Speaking of yarn, I found a wonderful set of colors yesterday called “Imagination”, which is based on fairy tales. There is a color called Ruby Slippers. Why yes, there is a Ruby Slipper wrap in my future….

IV.

The weather here has been divine lately–perfect. Almost fall like, actually. So yes, this means I can’t go swimming, which is sort of a bummer, but I love being able to sleep with my windows open, or sit outside on the patio of a random restaurant for lunch.  The mid to upper 70s is about perfect for me, temperature wise.  However I do want to go swimming sometime soon. 🙂 So as long as it’s not 90+, I’m OK with that.

V.

I have successfully introduced my parents to The Big Bang Theory. Since my dad is a computer scientist and mathematician, and the rest of us are, er, with Penny when it comes to math, I thought they’d enjoy it. And they do. Score for me.  last night was one of my favorite episodes, where Sheldon attempts to explain physics to Penny.

Penny: Just teach me a little physics.

Sheldon: A little physics?

VI.

This is my first weekend where I don’t have to be anywhere for huge chunks of time since….April. Wow. So I want to do things! I want to knit! I want to cook! I want to make pickles!  I want to devour my stack of books! How much of that will actually happen? Um….

VII.

 So I finalllllly finished Bring Up The Bodies. I have to say I didn’t like it nearly as much as Wolf Hall, especially since I’m sort of sympathetic to Anne Boleyn. Say what you want, but the woman wasn’t a witch and the fact that Henry couldn’t have a boy with her wasn’t her fault. Totally raw deal, there.

One thought on “Seven Quick Takes Friday Vol. 25

Leave a comment